.disclaimer.


...

.prev. .next.

.random entry.

.archives.

.profile.

.d-land.


.:grrl-blog:.
.start.

So. I was talking with Tracie the other morning about travelling, and decided that I am no longer going homeless about the country starting circa September. Instead, I am going to stay in the Twin Cities and build up clientele and skills and finances with this Domme work (and yea ol Club as a back up). The work is flexible enough that there is no reason I can't just take a month here and there to do some travelling, while retaining a place to live here in Minneapolis. In the long term, it might be a good idea to buy a house here. If I make long-term travel plans, I can rent it out and hire a manager to take care of things while I'm gone. I certainly know where to go to make sure things are legally sound. For that matter, once financially able, there is no reason not to purchase additional housing for the sole purpose of renting it out. I can talk to Ivy about it, that is exactly what she is doing.

Meanwhile, I don't really think I am ready to bolt just yet. Emotionally, I don't feel like deserting a support network that is just starting to take real shape here. I remember all too well how odd it was to come back and have to start essentially from scratch (and feeling highly alienated from most people) on figuring out what to do with my time and who to do it with here in Minneapolis. Additionally, I've been through so many fucking changes in the past couple of years that I think I'd rather just stay put and level out some. Recover, if you will.

Not to mention that, while I am capable of travelling alone for long periods of time, it simply isn't what I want. I want solid travel partners, whom I feel comfortable with and excited about being with, who I can trust not to act like a fool or fuck me over or panic if something goes awry with our plans, etc.

As far as work is concerned, yes, I can strip anywhere. But that is not my main objective, what I am trying to do is really get things rolling with the Domme work. I think the various projects have a lot of income potential, and I want to build a solid clientele and gain much more experience before I would feel comfortable taking it elsewhere. I'm not entirely sure where this is leading, maybe just something to develop while I figure the rest of it out. This sort of work can lend me the financial capability and time flexibility to do a lot of work I wouldn't be able to do within the framework of a nonprofit. Worrying about organizational concerns often times necessarily leads to diluting issue concerns.

Much social change is in daily choices, and the majority of nonprofit work I see (that I would be excited about) demands a car. It also pays poorly and while I don't need a lot of finances to be relatively comfortable, I do want to be able to travel, to buy organic produce and other socially/environmentally "just" products, to rent in areas that don't demand I have a car to get around. There is plenty of work to do that I will do just because I give a shit, provided I can afford to.

Sex work has interested me for so long, yet I always felt it would never happen for me....it's a definite turn of events to approach my life in this way rather than assuming I was going to work for nonprofits for the rest of my life and that BDSM would just remain a mystery and fantasy for me.

Then what about housing? Well, I can definitly continue to rent my one bedroom if I like. I can afford it. The lease is up July 31st. I have time, I can rent month to month after my lease is up if I haven't found the right housemates yet. I think, though, that I am going to try to find 4 or 5 other people to rent a house with. I don't want to live with just one or two other people in some apartment or duplex...I want a whole house to ourselves. I want a garden, a dog, etc. I want a decent location, I want hardwood floors, I want roommates who are creative and good conversation and clean and respectful. No couples. I've done the couples thing, it has many disadvantages (both living with another couple and being a couple).
**

Today I finally got a hold of the ED at this harm reduction clinic, where I am applying to be on their Board of Directors. I think I am just going to be straight with them about my work situation (quit the NonProfit, work as a dancer). If they can't deal with it, I won't serve on their board.

Photoshoot number two (with Ryan) is supposed to be on Tuesday. This will help financially, and I have some concept questions for Maureen and Andy in any case. Like when the fuck is the website going to be done? Maureen told me the massage house is ready as soon as Monday, but I have been directing interested clients to the website to apply. And it still looks the same as it did when I applied for the job. I did tell them it might be a month before it's ready, hopefully they retain interest that long...

I sent in the deposit for the trip to Chiapas (this is a former trip, they need to update the website) in June. I hope it all works out.


21.04.06....3:23 pm

.stop.

this is a space maker more space m.comments(0).

this is a space maker

previous - next

private entries.

/20.10.09....5:45 am/ meow.

/18.08.09....11:42 am/ 21 Jump Street

/14.08.09....10:49 am/ findin somethin to DO

/10.08.09....12:06 pm/ still bored

/10.08.09....12:06 pm/ still bored

this is a space maker

#recommend my diary to a friend.