.disclaimer.


...

.prev. .next.

.random entry.

.archives.

.profile.

.d-land.


.:grrl-blog:.
.start.

I was debating responding to this, but I'm bored so I'll go ahead.

"Stop And Think About It" left the following commentary in response to this entry:

"You have alot of growing up to do. You are 24 and married acting like a 16 year old. When you get married you need to let the party slow down and FIND out what your partner likes to do and stop being so selfish. I can see why he stays infront of the tv all day. I dont blame him one bit. You should have waited until you were grown up to get married"

Well, everyone knows that asshat comments the author was too chickenshit to leave contact information for are my FAVORITE. What am I going to do, bomb your webpage? Obviously Madame Asshat didn't bother to read the disclaimer..

Anyway. If Madame Asshat had bothered to read any of my other entries, she might know that I repeatedly asked P what he likes to do, asked him to do things with me, suggested activities like going out to eat, apple picking, cooking dinner together, going to a movie, going for a walk, going bike riding, going camping, and other lovely "grown up" items and that he was never interested in and that I was ALWAYS the instigator of ever doing ANYTHING outside of watching TV together at our apartment.

She might know that whenever I asked what he likes to do besides TV he just responded that he really likes watching TV. She might know that I was worried about his mental health, concerned he might be depressed and I tried very hard to engage our lives outside of the apartment. She might know that marriage counselling was my idea and that I did it so we could "FIND out" a way to find things in common, she might know that he ditched our appointment without saying a word to me and I had to call him to discover he had taken an extra shift at work and basically had just decided FUCK IT.

She might know that I did spend a lot of time purposely in front of the TV just to spend time with him because that's all I could get. She might know that I fucking HATE the stupid shit he loves to watch and that doing so was a big compromise on my part. She might know that compromise was never reciprocated or recognized.

She might also stop and think about what a marriage is - a partnership. When one partner puts in all the effort, that partner gets a little tired of it. She might think that perhaps partners should have more things in common and it shouldn't be such a repetative failing struggle to find things we like to do together. She might think about the fact that just maybe my ideal partner would like to party as well. She might think about the fact that she's a stupid fucking cow that has no business typing inane it's the woman's fault if she isn't a little home maker and just does whatever the man likes to do bullshit ESPECIALLY while being too fucking afraid to leave her URL or other contact information.

You goddamn ignorant bitch, if you want to be in an unhappy partnership that's your business but don't go telling me that I'm to blame for the fact that P and I have different lifestyle habits. In my humble opinion, the fact that we took the time to be honest with each other and recognize that we are better friends than partners is saying a WORLD about our maturity level. The fact that we are no longer together but due financial constraints we are still sleeping in the same bed and getting along just fine and respecting each other and ourselves says something about our maturity level. Oh wait, I'm the one being attacked here, says something about MY maturity level.

Instead of attacking people and telling them how they need to grow up, Madame Asshat, why don't you take a minute to reflect on your world view and think about the nature of relationships and how it interrelates with the role of marriage in society.

Oh, and one tiny little thing that probably marriage was supposed to include: I'm HAPPY for the first time in years. I feel really good about the path my life is on, freed from this burden I've been struggling with. I think we are better off apart, not faking something we don't have; faking to ourselves, each other, the world; all for the sake of maintaining society's idea of marriage, of partnership. Fuck off, we're creating our OWN ideas.

If placing happiness high on my list of life goals is selfish, then so be it. I'm selfish.

02.01.06....12:56 pm

.stop.

this is a space maker more space m.comments(3).

this is a space maker

previous - next

private entries.

/20.10.09....5:45 am/ meow.

/18.08.09....11:42 am/ 21 Jump Street

/14.08.09....10:49 am/ findin somethin to DO

/10.08.09....12:06 pm/ still bored

/10.08.09....12:06 pm/ still bored

this is a space maker

#recommend my diary to a friend.