.disclaimer.


...

.prev. .next.

.random entry.

.archives.

.profile.

.d-land.


.:grrl-blog:.
.start.

Oh my, it's been a long time since I last updated - due to a crazy schedule and it being too godawful hot & humid to attempt to think.

Last night I was going to make an entry but I just couldn't get my brain together, so I cleaned the house instead. That's right, I cleaned the house at 3 in the morning. I figured it would be a lot more pleasant since the temperature had dropped about 6 degrees from the daytime. Hah.

Well, since it's been so bloody long, I think I am just going to make a sort of list of shit; and attempt my thoughts on the matters afterwards.

Lessee...New York. Went there Thursday June 16 through Monday June 20th. Thursday we had a four hour delay at my stopover in Chicago. I discovered that when you have an afternoon to evening delay everyone goes to the bar. I had two beers while I was waiting, and I'm sure others around me had more. The plane ride to NYC was kind of funny and kind of annoying; and gratefully short.

I had no problems getting a cab to my friend's house in Brooklyn. By the time I got there she had already drank a bottle of wine without me. I rarely drink wine these days (being rather more partial to beer and hard liquor), but she and I finished off another bottle of wine and decided to go to yea local bar; which was, thank the wise people of New York, open til 4 am. I was really excited about being in a bar that late and it not being because I was friends with people that worked there. Yes I am a dork/alcoholic.

Anyway, I broke ALL of my drinking rules. First of all, I had gotten about 4 hours of sleep in the previous 36 hours and had worked a double (therefore, physically exhausted; therefore, low tolerance; therfore, go the fuck to BED, dipshit!). Secondly, I mixed not only different types of alcohol (wine, beer, and hard liquor); but mixed different types of shots as well. Taking jag one shot and 1800 the next is not smart, especially when proceeded by 4 beers, half a bottle of wine, travelling, little sleep, and a lot of physical work.

So we left, wasted off our asses, at about 5am. I managed to get my contacts out and face washed, then managed to throw up a million times in the toilet before stumbling back to the couch in the living room (my bed for the weekend). I have a memory of laying on the couch afterwards and throwing up off the side. However, when I woke the next afternoon and looked with terror at both the couch and carpet, there was absolutely nothing there. A dry heave? A dream? A premonition?

When I had found some ginger ale in the fridge and woken up a little, I knocked on Kay's door. She grunted, uhhh....

I came in to see that she had herself thrown up, only, it was all over her floor by the side of her bed. As in, she had leaned over in her stupor and hoarked on the floor. Yum.

She told me to be careful, that she had spilled her wine on the floor & there was glass...Um, what? Well, okay, if you want to pretend and hope I won't notice then I guess I won't say anything about it. Wierdo.

I had forgotten that Kay's eyesight is even worse than mine (like a negative 8.7 or some shit in contacts). When she did figure out it was puke she was horrified, having no memory of doing that. I suppose it's lucky she didn't throw up in her own throat and choke to death. So...she cleans that up & is so nasted out that she hoarks again (this time in the toilet).

What a brilliant way to start out the weekend! I remember specifically thinking I shouldn't get wasted while up there so that I wouldn't have to waste a day on a hangover.

Well, we got off our asses anyway (Kay is very not lazy, unlike me). We went to 5th Avenue, Central Park, Bedford, Midtown, blah blah...

We wanted to get some clothes to go to crobar. We figured since the cheapest tickets were advance tickets and even those were $20 (tickets for some events go up to $70. Seventy fucking dollars.) we'd better have some fancy pants nightclubbin gear or else we wouldn't get in.

So we bought cutesy crap from boutiques having 50% off sales, and ate various places, and watched Finding Nemo. Which is fucking hillarious, by the way.

Next day we got up & went about town sommore. Union Square, Chinatown, Little Italy, the like. We went to Sephora to scope out perfumes. I wanted to buy Ponge a cologne. So we figured out which ones we wanted (Lacoste pour homme for Ponge, Rush for Kay) then walked over to Chinatown and bought the same shit for half price. (You can't really smell what you're getting there since the bottles are in plastic wrap). That was one thing about New York that I really liked. Cheap goods you can bargain for. I saw those fucking ugly Louis Vatton knock-offs everywhere, too. A person could make some money bringing these things to smaller cities and selling them for original prices. Too bad the idea of working in retail makes me want to stab my eyes out.

Anyway, we go back to the apartment & laze about & then get ready. My outfit is hot, but I feel like a jackass on the subway getting there. It's really girly, and kind of says: mug me!

So...we get to the club and what do we see after spending two days getting shit for our outfits? Sneakers, jeans, logo shirts, and fucking baseball caps. Apparently there is no dress code after all. Oh well, I did get a really nice outfit for going out pretty much anywhere (dinner, theatre, dancing) for about $100, including new underwear and shoes.

I had a blast, dancing my ass off. Kay was less enthralled. People kept touching her ass. She doesn't do anything but bitch though. I had people try to dance with me and I shooed them away. Only one person did that thing that guys do at a club where they just hop on your booty and stick there crotch all up on you and try to dance there. I HATE that. I turned around and shoved him (hard, but not as hard as I would have like coz there were people behind him after all) off of me. Then I did my little fuck you dance and flipped him off. What a cocksucker. Do guys think you aren't going to notice them there? Do they think they're invited just because there is no one dancing with you (do they ever think there might be a reason there is no one else dancing with you)? I should really start slapping people. That would have been more satisfactory than the shove to his diaphragm.

Anyway, after awhile Kay's dating partner fuck friend person (dpffp) shows up & we all take a cab back to Kay's place. I go to bed and don't hear a thing, but I guess Kay got the booty call she was looking for.

Kay's dpffp is originally from India and has this old friend who is apparently on a hit list and might get killed any day. The story is that twenty years ago he pulled some prank on another student and got him kicked out of Duke University. The kid who was kicked out was the son of a very powerful family in India (like, Donald Trump powerful) and he vowed that one day there would be a bullet in the other person's head for it. So...recently, powerful family dude's dad ran for some government position in India (through a lot of money and payoffs). Then his competition found this story about powerful dude's son getting kicked out of Duke University, which is apparently extremely embaressing for the family. So there is now a hit out on prankster dude, who has been hopping couches because his house is under constant surveillance by Indian mobsters.

Lesson? A) Don't get people kicked out of Universities; B) If you are so inclined, make sure they don't come from an Indian mob family...

Sunday we didn't get moving til afternoon. We mucked about, then Sunday night we went to Times Square. I have to say I was not impressed. A bunch of giant glowing advertisements. Whoop-de-doo. I think if I lived in NYC I would avoid Times Square as much as possible.

Got up about 5am and went to the airport. You can call a Lincoln Towncar for the same price as a cab. Yeah, stylin.

I was glad to be home, I had actually managed to get a little homesick one of the nights. I think it's a lot different visiting Madison because that's a home away from home.

I'm not sure I would want to live in NY. The subways are convenient and there is a lot to learn and do there. But it smells like garbage frequently and there are no lawns that I saw. Additionally, the housing market is super inflated right now. I think I'd have to take another trip before deciding.

Well...I'm sick of typing for now. I'll have to get to last week a little later.

27.06.05....3:58 pm

.stop.

this is a space maker more space m.comments(0).

this is a space maker

previous - next

private entries.

/20.10.09....5:45 am/ meow.

/18.08.09....11:42 am/ 21 Jump Street

/14.08.09....10:49 am/ findin somethin to DO

/10.08.09....12:06 pm/ still bored

/10.08.09....12:06 pm/ still bored

this is a space maker

#recommend my diary to a friend.